Why do we spend so much time in the past?

If you are going back over your life, focusing on the difficulties of the past, you are just projecting more difficulties into the now. If there’s one wonderful thing that you can do for yourself now, then letting go of the past would have to be it. Yes, I know how difficult this is because I’ve been there.

foto.jpg Spending my time lamenting, hating, being in a state of anger at people or events or even regretting things I didn’t say in the past. What I realized over the years was that doing this prevented me from enjoying this moment and from seeing the little but wonderful things in life. If you are spending most of the time reliving events of the past, you are missing out on what’s going on in front of your face. Also, if you are holding on to negative feelings or blaming someone, then you are taking it all with you into the present and harming yourself. Think about it!. Maybe this could haven been a moment that was important for you, a moment that would have given you a clue as how to go on, or maybe to change something. Maybe someone smiled at you, but you didn’t see it, because you were mad about the past. So, you just missed it. Isn’t that a shame?

How do you start? Well, how about right away, knowing that I truly believe in you! I started reminding myself every single day to remain in the present and since then everything changed for me. At first it was hard and I often had to bring myself to this moment like most of the day. But, as time went on, it became easier and these days I’m living about 90% in the present. I now see and am so grateful for the many splendid things that where there before, but I just couldn’t see. Simple things, like finally seeing the true color of  my friends’ eyes or the beautiful daisy’s growing just across the road. Funny enough, they were always there, waiting for me to take in their beauty. They waited patiently for me. Life is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

